SCHEDULE


The GNSI is excited to present this year’s Visual SciComm Conference: Visualizing Science for All—our third virtual conference! On the first weekend, we’ll meet on Crowdcast for expert presentations and panel discussions. In the evening on Friday, SciArt Initiative and GNSI will host a networking, social event on a second platform, Remo. The following two weekends, we’re offering exciting workshops.

The virtual, online format offers us a unique opportunity to gather from all over the globe. We’re thrilled to offer the conference at a rate of $75 for members and $105 for nonmembers. Please see workshops for cost. We look forward to seeing you at the conference! REGISTER HERE

TECH CHECK DAY: Wednesday, August 10 at 4 pm PDT / 7 pm EDT, is an **Optional** Tech Check: This casual tech check the day before the conference will allow us to ensure you can log in smoothly and help troubleshoot if you can’t. Attendance is 100% optional. The Tech Check will be held on Crowdcast and Remo. 

 

Schedule

 

FRIDAY, AUGUST 12, 8:45 AM – 6 PM PDT / 11:45 AM – 9 PM EDT

WELCOME & OPENING REMARKS: 8:45–9:00 am PDT / 11:45 am–12:00 pm EDT

SESSION 1: Science Storytelling Projects (On Crowdcast)

  • 9:00–9:20 am PDT / 12:00–12:20 pm EDT   Science is Everywhere, Science is for Everyone (Dr. Jeanette Davis, Science is Everywhere, LLC)
  • 9:20–9:50 am PDT / 12:20–12:50 pm EDT   Making a Pop-Sci Book in the lab (Dr. Ipsa Jain, Srishti Manipal Institute, Bangalore)
  • 9:50–10:30 am PDT / 12:50–1:30 pm EDT   Creating a Fine Art Painting, From Research to Exhibit (Erin Hunter, Erin E. Hunter Fine Art & Illustration, Annual Reviews)

 

SESSION 2: Illustration Techniques (On Crowdcast) 

  • 12:00–12:40 pm PDT / 3:00–3:40 pm EDT   The Light Value Gouache System (John Muir Laws)
  • 12:40–1:00 pm PDT / 3:40–4:00 pm EDT   Using Visual References in Biomedical Illustration (Nancy Chu Ji, Biohues Digital)
  • 1:00–1:40 pm PDT / 4:00–4:40 pm EDT  Nature Sketching Tips from Travels in the Tropics (Christine Elder)

 

SESSION 3: SciArt Mixer with SciArt Initiative (On Remo)

  • 4:00–6:00 pm PDT / 7:00–9:00 pm EDT  

 

SATURDAY, AUGUST 13 9:20 AM – 6 PM PDT / 11:20 AM – 9 PM EDT

DAILY ANNOUNCEMENTS (On Crowdcast): 9:20–9:30 am PDT / 12:20–12:30 pm EDT

SESSION 4: Accessible and Inclusive SciComm Panel Discussion (On Crowdcast) 

Panelist Introductions: Jeff Day, MA, MD (Johns Hopkins University), Elena YH Lin (UC San Diego and SciComm Collective), John Muir Laws, Dr. Nuria Melisa Morales Garcia (University of Bristol/Science Graphic Design)

  • 9:30–10:10 am PDT / 12:30–1:10 pm EDT  

 Panel Discussion with Live Q&A

  • 10:10–11:00 am PDT / 1:10–2:00 pm EDT   

 

SESSION 5: Creative Collaborations (On Crowdcast)

  • 12:00–12:30 pm PDT / 3:00–3:30 pm EDT   Off the Charts: How a Personal Project Fueled my Knowledge of Data Visualization (Diogo Guerra, Medical & Veterinary Illustration by Diogo Guerra)
  • 12:30–1:00 pm PDT / 3:30–4:00 pm EDT  Portrait of a Denisovan Girl–Reconstructing Anatomy without a Skeleton (Maayan Harel, Maayan Visuals)  

 

SESSION 6: Visualization Techniques (On Crowdcast)

  • 1:30–2:00 pm PDT / 4:30–5:00 pm EDT   Exploring the Role of Information Design in Visualizing Science (M. Genevieve Hitchings, New York City College of Technology CUNY)  
  • 2:00–2:20 pm PDT / 5:00–5:20 pm EDT  Molecular Visualization Workflow in the Animation Lab (Grace Hsu, Animation Lab/University of Utah)

 

SUNDAY, AUGUST 14 9:00 AM – 1 PM PDT / 11:00 AM – 4 PM EDT

DAILY ANNOUNCEMENTS (On Crowdcast): 9:00–9:10 am PDT / 12:00–12:10 pm EDT

SESSION 7: Digital Art Techniques (On Crowdcast)  

  • 9:10–9:40 am PDT / 12:10–12:40 pm EDT  How to Prepare 3D Models for 3D Printing (Mieke Roth)
  • 9:40–10:10 am PDT/ 12:40–1:10 pm EDT Introduction Tradigital Illustration (Scott Rawlins, Arcadia University)

SESSION 8: The Business of Visual SciComm (On Crowdcast)

  • 10:30–11:10 am PDT / 1:30–2:10 pm EDT   Business Lessons from Nature (Ikumi Kayama, Studio Kayama LLC)

  • 11:10–11:50 pm PDT / 2:10–2:50 pm EDT  The Value of Copyright for Natural Science Illustrators (Bill Westwood, Westwood Medical Communications)

  • 12:00–12:40 pm PDT/ 3:00–3:40 pm EDT Illustrating for the Children’s Educational Publishing Market (Sara Lynn Cramb)

SESSION 9: Practical Conversations On Mental Wellbeing Panel Discussion (On Crowdcast)

  • 1:15-2:15 pm PDT / 4:15-5:15 pm EDT (Brooke Alexander, Jay Rasgorshek, Julia Nepper, Chelsea Mamot, Jacki Whisnent)

 CLOSING REMARKS (On Crowdcast): 2:15-2:30 pm PDT / 5:15-:30 pm EDT

 

Workshop weekends

Click HERE for registration info

SATURDAY, AUGUST 20

WORKSHOPS

  • 7:00–11:00 am PDT / 10:00 am–2:00 pm EDT   Introduction to Blender: Part 1 (Rafeeque Mavoor, Scidart Academy)
  • 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT / 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT   Representing Underwater Worlds: Part 1(Bruce Kerr, KerrCom)
  • 11:00 am–1:00 pm PDT/ 2:00–4:00 pm EDT Intro to Motion Design for Illustrators (Bailee Desrocher, Ingenuity Studios)

 

SUNDAY, AUGUST 21

WORKSHOPS

  • 7:00–8:00 am PDT / 10:00–11:00 am EDT   Introduction to Blender: Part 2 (Rafeeque Mavoor, Scidart Academy)
  • 8:00–11:00 am PDT/ 11:00 am–2:00 pm EDT   An Introduction to Tradigital Illustration: Part 1 (Scott Rawlins, Arcadia University)
  • 12:00–3:00 pm PDT/ 3:00–6:00 pm EDT   An Introduction to Tradigital Illustration: Part 2 (Scott Rawlins, Arcadia University)
  • 10:00 am–12:00 pm PDT / 1:00–3:00 pm EDT  Art in the Museum: Historical Practices and Looking to the Future (Jacki Whisenant, University of Wisconsin - Madison Zoological Museum, WI Insect Research Collection)

 

SATURDAY, AUGUST 27

 WORKSHOPS

  • 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT / 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT   Utilizing CT Data for Illustration Reference (Lauren Conroy and April Neander, The University of Chicago)
  • 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT/ 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT Representing Underwater Worlds: Part 2 (Bruce Kerr, KerrCom)
  • 9:00–11:00 am PDT/ 12:00–2:00 pm EDT Is your DNA Left-Handed? The RCSB as a Resource for Molecular Illustration (David Goodsell, Scripps Research and RCSB Protein Data Bank)
  • 10:00 am–2:00 pm PDT / 1:00–5:00 pm EDT  Moist Brush Technique (Karen Ackoff, Indiana University)

 

SUNDAY, AUGUST 28

WORKSHOPS

  • 8:00 am–10:00 pm PDT / 11:00 am–1:00 pm EDT   How to Get the Most Out of the Render Possibilities in ZBrush (Mieke Roth)
  • 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT/ 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT   To Market! The Small Business Studio’s Tool Box (Jennifer Fairman, Johns Hopkins University/Fairman Studios)
  • 8:00–11:00 am PDT/ 11:00 am–2:00 pm EDT Bird Anatomy and Form: Part 1 (John Muir Laws)
  • 12:00–3:00 pm PDT / 3:00–6:00 pm EDT  Bird Anatomy and Form: Part 2 (John Muir Laws)
 

Register NOW