Join us for the 2022 GNSI Visual SciComm Conference!
August 12–14,  20–21 & 27–28, 2022

 

Over the last few years, we’ve really seen how important science communication is. It affects our climate, our health, and our society. Clearly conveying vital scientific information can create significant change in our world. But making an impact requires accurate, inclusive, and accessible science communication, or scicomm.

Our 2022 GNSI Visual SciComm Conference—Visualizing Science for All—focuses on how artists, scientists, researchers, healthcare professionals, and students create connections between the lab and the public through science visuals. This year’s speakers and workshop instructors will showcase a variety of projects and careers that reach communities around the world.  Presenters will also share insights and techniques for creating successful visual scicomm.

In addition to presentations and workshops, there are exciting opportunities for sharing your work and connecting with the global scicomm community, including: 

  • Social media portfolio sharing 
  • The Annual Members’ Exhibition, with more categories including “broader visual scicomm”
  • An online auction
  • Friday evening social event partnering with SciArt Initiative

 

This year’s conference is fully virtual (as in 2021 and 2020). This virtual format makes the conference more accessible for many—it doesn’t require a plane ticket or lodging, and attendees can join wherever they are, whenever they can! Plus, attendees can view recorded sessions for up to 60 days following the conference. We do hope to meet in person again soon, but due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, we are staying virtual for now.

Register for the conference HERE, renew your skills, and connect with friends and colleagues (new and old) from around the globe!

Core Conference Registration: $75/member | $105/non-member*

Workshops are in Crowdcast or Zoom, but each requires a separate registration. There is no member discount for workshops and the class sizes may be limited. See the workshop schedule HERE.

SCHEDULE: QUICK GLANCE

MAIN SESSIONS

Friday, August 12

WELCOME & OPENING REMARKS (On Crowdcast), 8:45–9:00 am PDT / 11:45 am–12:00 pm EDT

SESSION 1: Science Storytelling Projects (On Crowdcast), 9:00–10:40 am PDT /12:00–1:40 pm EDT, on Crowdcast.

SESSION 2: Illustration Techniques (On Crowdcast), 12:00–1:45 pm PDT /3:00–4:45 pm EDT, on Crowdcast

SESSION 3: Evening Social and Networking Event with SciArt Initiative (On Remo), 4:00–6:00 pm PDT / 7:00–9:00 pm EDT, on Remo

 

Saturday, August 13

DAILY ANNOUNCEMENTS (On Crowdcast), 9:20–9:30 am PDT / 12:20–12:30 pm EDT, on Crowdcast

SESSION 4: Accessible and Inclusive SciComm Panel Discussion (On Crowdcast), 9:30–10:10 am PDT / 12:30–2:00 pm EDT, on Crowdcast

SESSION 5: Creative Collaborations (On Crowdcast), 12:00–1:10 pm PDT / 3:00–4:10 pm EDT, on Crowdcast

SESSION 6: Visualization Techniques (On Crowdcast), 1:30–2:30 pm PDT / 4:30–5:30 pm EDTon Crowdcast

 

Sunday, August 14

DAILY ANNOUNCEMENTS (On Crowdcast): 9:00–9:10 am PDT / 12:00–12:10 pm EDT, on Crowdcast

SESSION 7: Digital Art Techniques (On Crowdcast), 9:10–10:15 am PDT/ 12:10–1:15 pm EDT,on Crowdcast

SESSION 8: The Business of Visual SciComm (On Crowdcast), 10:30 am–12:40 pm PDT/ 1:30–3:40 pm EDT,on Crowdcast

SESSION 9: Practical Conversations On Mental Wellbeing Panel Discussion (On Crowdcast)1:15–2:15 pm PDT / 4:15–5:15 pm EDT

CLOSING REMARKS (On Crowdcast): 12:40–1:00 pm PDT / 3:40–4:00 pm EDT

 

WORKSHOPS

Saturday, August 20

Introduction to Blender (Part 1): 7:00–11:00 am PDT / 10:00 am–2:00 pm EDT 

Representing Underwater Worlds (Part 1): 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT / 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT 

Intro to Motion Design for Illustrators: 11:00 am–1:00 pm PDT/ 2:00–4:00 pm EDT

 

Sunday, August 21

Introduction to Blender (Part 2):7:00–8:00 am PDT / 10:00–11:00 am EDT 

An Introduction to Tradigital Illustration (Part 1): 8:00–11:00 am PDT/ 11:00 am–2:00 pm EDT 

An Introduction to Tradigital Illustration (Part 2): 12:00–3:00 pm PDT/ 3:00–6:00 pm EDT

Art in the Museum: Historical Practices and Looking to the Future:  10:00 am–12:00 pm PDT / 1:00–3:00 pm EDT

 

Saturday, August 27

Utilizing CT Data for Illustration Reference: 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT / 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT

Representing Underwater Worlds (Part 2): 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT/ 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT

Is your DNA Left-Handed? The RCSB as a Resource for Molecular Illustration: 9:00–11:00 am PDT/ 12:00–2:00 pm EDT

Moist Brush Technique: 10:00 am–2:00 pm PDT / 1:00–5:00 pm EDT

 

Sunday, August 28

How to Get the Most Out of the Render Possibilities in ZBrush: 8:00 am–10:00 pm PDT / 11:00 am–1:00 pm EDT

To Market! The Small Business Studio’s Tool Box: 8:00 am–12:00 pm PDT/ 11:00 am–3:00 pm EDT 

Bird Anatomy and Form (Part 1): 8:00–11:00 am PDT/ 11:00 am–2:00 pm EDT 

Bird Anatomy and Form (Part 2): 12:00–3:00 pm PDT / 3:00–6:00 pm EDT 

Download the 2022 GNSI Visual SciComm Conference 2022 Poster

PDF Download

PNG Download 

THANK YOU to members of the 2022 Visual SciComm Conference Planning Team:

Conference Chair: Bricelyn Strauch; GNSI President: Kapi Monoyios; GNSI Vice President: Deborah Shaw; Conference Oversight Committee Chair: Deborah Shaw; Finance Coordinator: Gloria Fuentes; Exhibit Coordinators: Grace Hsu; Social Media and Virtual Portfolio Sharing Coordinator: Jenn Deutscher; Website Content Team: Andrew MacAfee, Kayla O’Neal; Graphic Designer, Fiona Martin; Logo Art, Erin Hunter; Editor: Trenton Jung; Programs and Panels Coordinator: Dino Pulera; Workshops Coordinator: Karin Lakshmi von May ; Techniques Coordinator: Madison Mayfield; Programs Team Support: Jenn Paul; Auction Coordinator: Nora Sherwood; Merchandise Coordinator, Carrie Carlson; Tech team members. Thanks also to additional members of the Conference Oversight Committee Amelia Janes, Elizabeth Morales, and Scott Rawlins.